Know all about the RBI Assistant Exam Pattern and Syllabus

The RBI Assistant Exam is conducted by the Reserve bank of India (RBI) every year. It is a national level recruitment process and invites applications from candidates all over India. The applications can be submitted online after the RBI notification is released every year.

The recruitment process is divided into three phases, Prelims, Mains, and Language Proficiency Test. The applications can be submitted online, and the exam takes place online as well. If you are looking to become an assistant in the central bank, you must successfully qualify in all three phases.

The first step for preparation is to look into the syllabus and RBI assistant previous papers. Here’s everything you should know about the RBI Assistant exam pattern and syllabus.

Latest Changes In The RBI Assistant Exam

In the latest update in the RBI Assistant Exam, there are two new changes this year. For the preliminary exam, the sectional time has been introduced, and the overall vacancies for the position have been increased to 303.

RBI Assistant Exam Pattern

The exam takes place in two phases, Preliminary and Mains Exam. You have to clear both the exams separately to qualify for the post. Both the exams are objective type, multiple-choice questions, and it is computer-based.

RBI Assistant Prelims Exam Pattern

The preliminary exam consists of three sections, English language, Reasoning Ability, and Numerical Ability. It consists of a total of a hundred questions, and each question carries one mark.

Collect the details of RBI assistant previous papers and concentrate on subjects and questions that are repeatedly tested.

RBI Assistant Mains Exam Pattern

In the mains exam, the paper will consist of 200 multiple-choice questions.  It has five sections, General Awareness, Reasoning Ability, Numerical Ability, Computer Knowledge, and General Awareness. Each section consists of 40 questions for 40 marks in the time duration of 135 minutes.

Other than the English section, the different sections can be attempted in both Hindi and English. You have to qualify each section individually. If you look at the RBI assistant previous papers, it will give you a clear idea of what subjects to prepare for.

RBI Assistant Prelims Syllabus

The exam consists of three sections, Numerical Ability, Reasoning, and the English language. Here is the syllabus for each section for the prelims.

  • Reasoning – Series, Puzzles, Venn diagram, Word formation, Analogy, Direction and Distance, Coding-Decoding, Verbal Reasoning.
  • Numerical Ability – Number series, Data interpretation, Simplification, Algebra, Averages, Percentage, Time and Work, and more.
  • English Language – Fill in the blanks, Reading Comprehension, Phrases & Idioms, Spelling Error, Error Detection, Synonyms & Antonyms.

RBI Assistant Mains Syllabus

The exam consists of five sections, Numerical Ability, Reasoning, and English language, Computer Knowledge and General Awareness. The Reasoning, Numerical Ability, and English language have the same syllabus as the prelims exam.

Here is the syllabus for each section for the mains.

  • Computer Knowledge – MS Office, Operating System, Security, Internet and Web system, Networking, and Database Management.
  • General Awareness – Banking awareness, Geography, Politics, History, General Knowledge, Current Affairs, Science, and Sports.

When you prepare for the RBI Assistant exam, take your time to first completely become familiar with the exam pattern and syllabus. Consider looking at the different RBI assistant previous papers and seek the right guidance to prepare well in advance to complete the exam successfully.